Amityville Village Hall

The Amityville Town Hall has been awarded LEED Gold Certification. The new three-story, 20,000 square-foot American Georgian-style building houses the Police Department, Village Administration Offices including the Building and Tax Departments, as well as the Justice Court and ancillary offices.

From the Village of Amityville website:

"Green" Awards for the new Village Hall!!

Village Hall has received significant recognition by local and regional leaders in energy efficiency development and has become an important catalyst for government leading by example.

The village received a NEEP Award (Northeast Energy Efficiency Partnerships) in May 2009. NEEP is a regional nonprofit organization whose mission is to promote the efficient use of energy in homes, buildings and industry in the Northeast U.S. through regionally coordinated programs and policies that increase the use of energy efficient products, services and practices and that help achieve a cleaner environment and a more reliable and affordable energy system.

VISION Long Island named the Village of Amityville as one of its 2009 Smart Growth Award recipients. VISION is a not-for-profit organization whose mission is to promote more liveable, economically sustainable, and environmentally responsible growth on Long Island through Smart Growth. To learn more about VISION Long Island, go to their website at

The New York Conference of Mayors (NYCOM) awarded the village 2nd Place in the Public Management and Administration category of its Government Achievement Awards competition in 2009 for the village's construction of a "green" municipal building. The building was also featured in August's Empire State Report magazine and the July-August issue of NYCOM's Municipal Bulletin.

About LEED®

The LEED® (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) Green Building Rating System™ is a feature-oriented rating system that awards buildings points for satisfying specified greenbuilding criteria. The six major environmental categories of review include: Sustainable Sites, Water Efficiency, Energy and Atmosphere, Materials and Resources, Indoor Environmental. Quality and Innovation and Design. Certified, Silver, Gold, and Platinum levels of LEED green building certification are awarded based on the total number of points earned within each LEED category.

To learn more about LEED, Click here.